We a good story
Quick delivery in the UK
Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1) by Barbara Nadel Save 44% from RPP Save 44%

Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1) - Ebook

- A compelling crime thriller not to be missed

About Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1)

A secret worth killing for... Barbara Nadel introduces Inspector Cetin Ikmen for the first time in her debut novel, Belshazzar's Daughter. Perfect for fans of Jason Goodwin and Donna Leon. 'Exciting, accomplished and original' - Literary Review Leonid Meyer is found murdered in his flat in Balat, Istanbul's decrepit Jewish quarter, a swastika daubed on the wall in the old man's blood. But Inspector Cetin Ikmen is quick to eschew the obvious conclusion that this is a racist attack. The evidence leads Ikmen and his young lieutenant, Suleyman, to two people: Robert Cornelius, a teacher observed outside Meyer's flat shortly after the murder, and a retired businessman, Reinhold Smits, known to have had Nazi sympathies. But another link connects these two: a ninety-year-old Russian migr , Maria Gulcu, a widow who thinks she possesses a secret worth killing for...What readers are saying about Belshazzar's Daughter:'An engaging, fascinating picture of life in Turkey. Wonderful characters and a deep plot that constantly draws one to read on''An excellent murder mystery set in the twilight world of old aristocracies in modern day Istanbul''An intense psychological drama with an impressive array of characters and colourful descriptions of the less salubrious areas of Istanbul. Nadel successfully evokes the hot sultry atmosphere of modern Turkey'

Show more
  • Language:
  • English
  • ISBN:
  • 9780755382132
  • Protection:
  • DRM
  • Published:
  • December 9, 2010
  • £4.99
  • £8.99
  • £4.00 (44%)
  • Immediately by email
Description of Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1)
A secret worth killing for... Barbara Nadel introduces Inspector Cetin Ikmen for the first time in her debut novel, Belshazzar's Daughter. Perfect for fans of Jason Goodwin and Donna Leon. 'Exciting, accomplished and original' - Literary Review Leonid Meyer is found murdered in his flat in Balat, Istanbul's decrepit Jewish quarter, a swastika daubed on the wall in the old man's blood. But Inspector Cetin Ikmen is quick to eschew the obvious conclusion that this is a racist attack. The evidence leads Ikmen and his young lieutenant, Suleyman, to two people: Robert Cornelius, a teacher observed outside Meyer's flat shortly after the murder, and a retired businessman, Reinhold Smits, known to have had Nazi sympathies. But another link connects these two: a ninety-year-old Russian migr , Maria Gulcu, a widow who thinks she possesses a secret worth killing for...What readers are saying about Belshazzar's Daughter:'An engaging, fascinating picture of life in Turkey. Wonderful characters and a deep plot that constantly draws one to read on''An excellent murder mystery set in the twilight world of old aristocracies in modern day Istanbul''An intense psychological drama with an impressive array of characters and colourful descriptions of the less salubrious areas of Istanbul. Nadel successfully evokes the hot sultry atmosphere of modern Turkey'
User ratings of Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1)


Find similar books
The book Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1) can be found in the following categories:
Join thousands of book lovers

Sign up to our newsletter and receive discounts and inspiration for your next reading experience.