We a good story
Quick delivery in Europe

Books by David Graeber

Filter
Filter
Genre
  • (2)
  • (7)
  • (12)
Type
  • (11)
  • (7)
  • (1)
Format
  • (10)
  • (6)
  • (2)
  • (1)
  • (1)
Language
  • (17)
Price
Series
  • (1)
  • (1)
Sort bySort Popular
  • - A New History of Humanity
    by David Graeber & David Wengrow
    £11.49 - 23.99

  • - The First 5000 Years
    by David Graeber
    £18.49

  • - The Rise of Pointless Work, and What We Can Do About It
    by David Graeber
    £10.49

  • - A Theory
    by David Graeber
    £5.49 - 11.49

  • - An Illustrated Guide to Popular Rebellion
    by David Graeber & Nika Dubrovsky
    £11.49

  • by Marshall Sahlins & David Graeber
    £23.99

  • by David Graeber, Janet Lloyd & Carlo Severi
    £27.99

    Presents a fresh theoretical ground for the study of ritual, iconographic technologies, and oral traditions among nonliterate peoples. The author unfolds fresh approaches to research in the anthropology of ritual and memory, ultimately building a new theory of imagination and an original anthropology of thought.

  • - Magic and the Legacy of Slavery in Madagascar
    by David Graeber
    £21.49

    Betafo, a rural community in central Madagascar, is divided between descendants of nobles and descendants of slaves. Anthropologist David Graeber uncovers the layers of historical, social, and cultural knowledge required to understand a disastrous communal ordeal and elaborates a new view of power, inequality, and the political role of narrative.

  • - The First 5000 Years
    by David Graeber
    £18.49

    A fascinating chronicle of little known history of Debt Must we always repay our debts? Wasnt money invented to replace ancient barter systems? Apparently not, according to Yale-bred anthropologist David Graeber. In a stunning reversal of conventional wisdom, Graeber radically challenges our understanding of debt. He illustrates how, for more than 5000 years long before the invention of coins or bills there existed debtors and creditors who used elaborate credit systems to buy and sell goods. He argues that Madagascar was held to be indebted to France because France invaded it, reminds us that texts from Vedic India included God in credit systems and shows how the dollar changed European society forever in the sixteenth century. He also brilliantly demonstrates how words like guilt, sin and redemption derive in large part from ancient debates about debt, and shape even our most basic ideas of right and wrong. Debt: The First 5,000 Years is a fascinating chronicle of this little known history of how it has defined the evolution of human society, and what it means for the credit crisis of the present day and the future of our economy.

  • - On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy
    by David Graeber
    £13.49

    From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence? To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeberone of our most important and provocative thinkerstraces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even noticethough he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealingeven romanticabout bureaucracy. Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible. An essential book for our times,The Utopia of Rulesis sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over usand the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

  • by Antonio Negri, John Holloway, David Graeber & et al.
    £4.99

    From Socrates to Antonio Gramsci, imprisoned philosophers have marked the history of thought and changed how we view power and politics. From his solitary jail cell, Abdullah Ocalan has penned daringly innovative works that give profuse evidence of his position as one of the most significant thinkers of our day. His prison writings have mobilsed tens of thousands of people and inspired a revolution in the making in Rojava, northern Syria, while also penetrating the insular walls of academia triggering debate and reflection among countless scholars. So how do you engage in a meaningful dialogue with Abdullah Ocalan when he has been held in total isolation since April 2015? You compile a book of essays written by a globally diverse cast of the most imaginative luminaries of our time, send it to Ocalan's jailers and hope that they deliver it to him. Featured in this extraordinary volume are over a dozen writers, activists, dreamers, and scholars whose ideas have been investigated in Ocal

  • by David Graeber
    £17.49

  • by David Graeber
    £9.49

Join thousands of book lovers

Sign up to our newsletter and receive discounts and inspiration for your next reading experience.