We a good story
Quick delivery in the UK

Fiction

At Tales you will find a wide selection of fiction books, that will take you on adventures beyond our imagination; to visit magical kingdoms, historic scenes, romantic settings or simply take you on a journey into a different everyday life and teach you a thing or two about life and about yourself. Fiction literature makes you reflect upon life, yourself and others whether it is in the form of a historical novel, a romantic tale, a comic, a fantasy book or a collection of poems. You find them all here from the niches, and the classics to the fiction book best sellers. The only limit is your imagination.

Vis mere
Filter
Filter
Book type
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
Format
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (1.000+)
  • (284)
  • (105)
  • (27)
Show more
Language
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (2.000+)
  • (2.000+)
  • (2.000+)
Show more
Price
GBP
Rating
  • (131)
  • (170)
  • (182)
  • (184)
  • (189)
Series
  • (5.000+)
  • (2.000+)
  • (1.000+)
  • (852)
  • (693)
  • (511)
  • (298)
  • (274)
  • (262)
Show more
Sort bySort Popular
  • by Matt Haig
    £8.99 - 14.49

    The touching, funny and heartwarming new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of How to Stop Time and Reasons to Stay Alive

  • by Maggie O'Farrell
    £8.99 - 15.49

  • - 'A masterpiece.' Sunday Times
    by Kazuo Ishiguro
    £8.49 - 16.49

    AVAILABLE TO PREORDER NOWFrom the bestselling and Booker Prize winning author of Never Let me Go and The Remains of the Day, a stunning new novel - his first since winning the Nobel Prize in Literature - that asks, what does it mean to love?

  • by Delia Owens
    £4.99 - 6.99

    Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.

  • - A story of life, death and the NHS
    by Michael Rosen
    £9.99 - 12.99

    Embarking on the long road to recovery, Michael was soon ready to start writing about his near-death experience. Combining stunning new prose poems by one of Britain's best loved poets and the moving coronavirus diaries of his nurses, doctors and wife Emma-Louise Williams, this is a beautiful book about love, life and the NHS.

  • by Charlie Mackesy
    £8.49 - 16.99

    The Sunday Times Bestseller and New York Times Bestseller. Meet the new Winnie the Pooh.' The Daily Mail'A wonderful work of art and a wonderful window into the human heart' Richard CurtisEnter the world of Charlie's four unlikely friends, discover their story and their most important life lessons.

  • - WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE 2019
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    £4.99 - 8.49

  • by Ann Cleeves
    £4.99 - 16.99

    The ninth novel in the Vera Stanhope series from the Sunday Times bestseller Ann Cleeves; now a major TV series from ITV.

  • by Nancy Revell
    £8.49

    THE TENTH NOVEL IN THE BESTSELLING SHIPYARD GIRLS SERIES'Emotional and gripping' Take a BreakDecember 1943 As the war effort gathers steam in Europe, it's all hands on deck on the home front. Gloria is over the moon to be reunited with her sweetheart Jack.

  • by Lesley Pearse
    £3.99 - 14.35

  • by Madeline Miller
    £7.49

    A breathtakingly original rendering of the Trojan War - a devastating love story and a tale of gods and kings, immortal fame and the human heart

  • by Lynda La Plante
    £6.99 - 15.99

    That is until the discovery of the most brutal murder Jane has ever seen: Charlie Foxley has been found viciously beaten to death with a cricket bat - his body dismembered and disembowelled. As a big-time theatrical agent, Foxley had a lot of powerful friends - but just as many enemies.

  • - The new feel-good, funny novel from the Sunday Times bestseller
    by Cathy Bramley
    £8.49

    Feel-good, escapist women's fiction about friendship, family and love - perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Carole Matthews and Katie Fforde

  • - Stories
    by Haruki Murakami
    £14.49

  • by Tatsuki Fujimoto
    £6.49

    Broke young man + chainsaw dog demon = Chainsaw Man!

  • by Toshikazu Kawaguchi
    £4.99 - 9.49

    A beautiful, moving story about a small Japanese cafe that offers its visitors the chance to travel back in time, to find an answer to the question: what would you change if you could go back? For fans of The Guest Cat and If Cats Disappeared from the World.

  • by Sheila O'Flanagan
    £6.99 - 14.99

  • by Osamu Dazai
    £9.99

  • by Dilly Court
    £6.99

    When Belinda Phillips falls in love with a handsome Anglo-Indian officer, she knows that he is a man she can never hope to marry. When he is reported missing, believed killed in action, Belinda discovers that she is pregnant. Facing disgrace and ruin, she has no option other than to accept an arranged marriage with a middle-aged widower.

  • by Katie Flynn
    £8.49 - 16.49

    THE BRAND NEW NOVEL FROM SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR KATIE FLYNN_____________________Liverpool 1939: Olivia Campbell appears to have the perfect life.

  • - The dystopian classic reimagined with cover art by Shepard Fairey
    by George Orwell
    £6.30

    Winston Smith works for the Ministry of Truth in London, chief city of Airstrip One. Big Brother stares out from every poster, the Thought Police uncover every act of betrayal. When Winston finds love with Julia, he discovers that life does not have to be dull and deadening, and awakens to new possibilities.

  • - (Women's Murder Club 20)
    by James Patterson
    £8.99 - 16.49

    The Women's Murder Club face the fight of their lives in the latest thriller from the bestselling James Patterson seriesTHREE CITIES. As the casualty list expands, fear and fascination with this shocking spree provoke debate across the country. Are the killers villains or heroes?

  • by Dilly Court
    £3.99 - 14.99

  • by Erica James
    £6.99 - 13.49

    The compelling new novel from bestselling author Erica James

  • by Gege Akutami
    £8.49

    Yuji Itadori is resolved to save the world from cursed demons, but he soon learns that the best way to do it is to slowly lose his humanity and become one himself!

  • - Could new love lead to a happily ever after?
    by Katie Fforde
    £6.99 - 10.99

  • by Kohei Horikoshi
    £8.49

    Midoriya inherits the superpower of the world's greatest hero, but greatness won't come easy.

  • - Birch End Series 3
    by Anna Jacobs
    £3.99 - 14.99

    The third book in Anna Jacobs' wonderful Birch End saga

  • by Molly Green
    £2.99 - 6.49

    'Molly Green creates realistic characters and situations that keep you turning the pages' Katie Fforde, Sunday Times bestseller 'A moving, gripping story set during WW2' Kitty Neale, Sunday Times bestseller

Fiction definition
Fiction is per definition set in a fictional story universe. It contains fictional characters with a fictional story line, but that does not mean that a fictional book necessarily should take place in magical kingdoms with supernatural creatures. In fiction we also find books inspired by real life - books that deal with real life problems and experiences but seen from a fictional point of view. Fiction can teach you a lot about empathy, because the main thing about a really good book is one’s ability to step into another person’s shoes and see the world from their point of view and feel the feelings they feel, whether they look like you or comes from different heredity and environment. By reading their story you get an understanding of why they act like they act and feel like they feel. At the same time the events make you reflect on your own life and in that case you could maybe learn something new about yourself and of life in general.  
Many classics is also part of the fiction genre, which might be the widest literary category there is. Fiction contains many genres. You can find both romance, fantasy, adventure, science fiction and fiction history books in our collection. 

Classics
Fiction literature contains some of the greatest classics of all time. A classic is defined by its universality. It speaks to you, whether it has been 100, 200 or even a 1000 years since the idea was put into paper, and the story came to life in the hands of an amazing and talented fiction writer. An example of that is the amazing stories by Jane Austen. One of our times most beloved fiction history books is the tale of Pride and Prejudice. The story follows Elizabeth - a strong, independent young woman - and her sisters in their attempt to act according to the norms, customs and ideals of women that were part of the 1800th hundred. The story is called Pride and Prejudice for a reason. The fiction history book deals with how people at the time often ‘judged a book by its cover’: power, prestige, wealth and beauty was sometimes more important than the person underneath it all even when it came to marriage. Jane Austen teaches us through her wonderful and humorous language that love is not always about looks, status and money, it is also a matter of the heart and mind. A message that still counts today. 

Fiction best sellers
At Tales you also find our times’ greatest fiction best sellers. The best seller list is a good place to start, if you cannot decide which book to begin with. A best seller is defined by its popularity and often good reviews. Follow other readers recommendations and start your fiction book journey with a best seller. 
A book that in recent years has enjoyed increased popularity is the science fiction novel The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. The story takes place in a dystopian future not so far from our time. In that future the United States has been undertaken by a religious group, who has changed the society around, and most women do not have anything to say. Some are forced to live as handmaids, whose purpose is to deliver healthy children to the world. A world marked by atomic contamination, infertility and inequality. The book has recently gained its relevance, because of our times’ climate change and equality debates. The story also gets even more relevant with the spread of Covid-19 - an external, hostile power that forces us to stay isolated and avoid physical contact. The fiction book best seller comes in different versions with different covers. You can find The Handmaid’s Tale as both paperbacks, hardbacks and a special graphic novel edition. You also find the long awaited sequel The Testaments among our fiction best sellers.

Fiction books for teens
Fiction literature is for everybody and at Tales you can also find fiction books for teens. The stories often take place in adventurous surroundings taking your teens on magical adventures as in Harry Potter. Some of the recent years’ best sellers among teens take place in life-like surroundings and deal with difficult matters. They teach teens about love, life, but also illness and death - all important on your way of growing as a human being. 

Join thousands of book lovers

Sign up to our newsletter and receive discounts and inspiration for your next reading experience.