We a good story
Quick delivery in Europe

Crime & Thriller

If you like crime, suspense or just a well written mystery you have come to the right place. At Tales you find a wide selection of crime novels and thriller books. The crime and thriller genres come in many forms. You can find everything from the most scary and bloddy murder to a mindblowing mystery written by some of the best crime writers. The crime and thriller books are very popular, because of their page-turner elements. Have you first started reading one, it’s hard to put it down again. Are you ready for a thrill?

Show more
Filter
Filter
Book type
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
Format
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (2.000+)
  • (811)
  • (8)
  • (1)
  • (1)
Language
  • (5.000+)
  • (4.000+)
  • (2.000+)
  • (1.000+)
  • (724)
  • (620)
  • (567)
  • (477)
  • (370)
Show more
Price
Rating
  • (33)
  • (34)
  • (35)
  • (35)
  • (35)
Series
  • (237)
  • (193)
  • (130)
  • (124)
  • (103)
  • (81)
  • (69)
  • (68)
  • (65)
Show more
Sort bySort Popular
  • by Richard Osman
    £5.99 - 19.99

    'Such a beacon of pleasure' KATE ATKINSON'So smart and funny. Deplorably good' IAN RANKIN'A gripping read' SUNDAY TIMESTHE FIRST BOOK IN THE #1 BESTSELLING THURSDAY MURDER CLUB SERIES BY TV PRESENTER RICHARD OSMANIn a peaceful retirement village, four unlikely friends meet up once a week to investigate unsolved murders. But when a brutal killing takes place on their very doorstep, the Thursday Murder Club find themselves in the middle of their first live case.Elizabeth, Joyce, Ibrahim and Ron might be pushing eighty but they still have a few tricks up their sleeves. Can our unorthodox but brilliant gang catch the killer before it's too late?__________________________________WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB'Thrilling, moving, laugh-out-loud funny' MARK BILLINGHAM'A great read, I really enjoyed it' GRAHAM NORTON'As the bodies pile up, and more is revealed of the lives and loves of Joyce, Ibrahim, Ron and Elizabeth, you can't help cheering them on - and hoping to meet them again soon' THE TIMES, CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH'Mystery fans are going to be enthralled' HARLAN COBEN'Pure escapism' THE GUARDIAN, BEST CRIME AND THRILLERS OF 2020'One of the most enjoyable books of the year' DAILY EXPRESS'Smart, compassionate, warm, moving and so VERY funny' MARIAN KEYES'As gripping as it is funny' EVENING STANDARD'Funny, clever and achingly British' ADAM KAY'An exciting new talent in crime fiction' DAILY MAIL'A warm, wise and witty warning never to underestimate the elderly' VAL MCDERMID'Delight after delight from first page to last' RED MAGAZINE'I completely fell in love with it' SHARI LAPENA'This is properly brilliant. The pages fly and I can't stop smiling' STEVE CAVANAGH'Charming, clever debut' STYLIST'I laughed my arse off' BELINDA BAUER'A witty and poignant tale' DAILY TELEGRAPH'Clever, clever plot' FIONA BARTON'An absolutely delightful read' PRIMA MAGAZINE'Utterly charming' SARAH PINBOROUGH'Funny and original' THE SUN'Properly funny and totally charming...steeped in Agatha Christie joy' ARAMINTA HALL'This is one of the most delightful novels of the year' DAILY MIRROR'A bundle of joy' JANE FALLON

  • by Delia Owens
    £4.99 - 8.99

    Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.

  • by Elly Griffiths
    £8.99 - 16.49

  • - The Prequel to The Pillars of the Earth, A Kingsbridge Novel
    by Ken Follett
    £5.99 - 33.49

    The thrilling novel from the No.1 Internationally bestselling author Ken Follett. An epic, addictive historical masterpiece that begins in 997 CE and is set against the background of the medieval church and one man's ambition to make his abbey a centre of learning.

  • - New from the #1 bestselling creator of the hit Netflix series The Stranger
    by Harlan Coben
    £8.99 - 16.49

  • by James Patterson
    £8.49 - 16.49

  • by Stuart MacBride
    £4.99 - 15.99

  • by Peter May
    £8.99 - 16.49

  • - John Grisham's latest no. 1 bestseller - the perfect Christmas present.
    by John Grisham
    £4.99 - 16.49

    The incredible new thriller from international bestseller John Grisham.

  • by Susan Lewis
    £2.99 - 11.49

  • by Lucy Clarke
    £2.99 - 11.49

    The gripping new thriller from the bestselling author of You Let Me In.

  • by David Baldacci
    £4.99 - 15.99

    A gripping thriller featuring Atlee Pine, FBI Special Agent, by internationally bestselling author David Baldacci.

  • by Colleen Hoover
    £12.49

  • - The addictive new Sunday Times No.1 bestseller from the author of The Girl on the Train
    by Paula Hawkins
    £14.49

  • - The thrilling new Sunday Times bestseller - from the million copy selling author of THE HOLIDAY and THE CATCH
    by T.M. Logan
    £8.99 - 11.49

    The weight of the child in her arms making Ellen's heart ache for what she can never have. Five minutes pass. Ten. The train pulls into a station and Ellen is stunned to see the mother hurrying away down the platform, without looking back.

  • - the Sunday Times bestselling World War II thriller
    by Robert Harris
    £8.99 - 16.49

  • - (Jack Reacher 25)
    by Lee Child & Andrew Child
    £8.99 - 16.49

    The edge-of-your-seat, heart-in-mouth new Jack Reacher thriller for 2020 - his 25th adventure. and then put it right, like only he can. ***'Jack Reacher is today's James Bond, a thriller hero we can't get enough of.' Ken Follett'If you haven't read any Jack Reacher, you have a treat in store .

  • by Lynda La Plante
    £8.99 - 12.99

    But when a mutilated body is discovered in a Cotswolds house, it becomes clear that this is no ordinary group of opportunist thieves. As Detective Jack Warr investigates, he discovers locals with dark secrets, unearths hidden crimes - and hits countless dead ends.

  • by Janice Hallett
    £8.99 - 11.49

  • by M. L. Rio
    £11.49

    As a young actor studying at an elite conservatory, Oliver felt doomed to always be in his friends' shadows. But when a surprise casting turns a good-natured rivalry between two of them into something dangerous, their stage roles spill over into real life.

  • by Ann Cleeves
    £8.99 - 14.99

    &i>Sunday Times&/i> bestselling author of the Shetland and Vera Stanhope series, Ann Cleeves, returns with the second in a brand new series set in North Devon and featuring Detective Matthew Venn. &i>The Herons Cry &/i>is the second book in the Two Rivers series following on from &i>The Long Call.&/i>

  • - The unmissable first thriller in an electrifying, brand-new series from the Queen of Crime
    by Val Mcdermid
    £16.49

    The first breathtaking thriller in a brand-new series from number one bestseller and queen of crime Val McDermid.

  • by Richard Osman
    £8.99 - 23.99

  • - The brilliantly funny new crime novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of SNAP
    by Belinda Bauer
    £8.99

  • by Peter James
    £2.99 - 19.99

    A spine-tingling thriller of obsession from the number one bestselling author Peter James.

  • by B A Paris
    £0.99 - 11.49

    TELL ME YOUR SECRETS... The next twisty psychological thriller from the international, million-copy, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Dilemma and Behind Closed Doors. ***NOW AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER!***

  • by Holly Jackson
    £2.99 - 6.99

  • by Lynda La Plante
    £10.99 - 16.49

    A coffin is dug up by builders in the grounds of an historic convent - inside is the body of a young nun. In a city as old as London, the discovery is hardly surprising. Tennison must pray she can find both - before they are buried forever .

  • by Ian Rankin & William McIlvanney
    £16.49

    In this scorching crime hook-up, number one bestseller Ian Rankin and Scottish crime-writing legend William McIlvanney join forces for the first ever case of DI Laidlaw, Glasgow's original gritty detective

  • by Alex Pavesi
    £0.99 - 11.49

Crime
The crime genre is one of the most popular literary genres among readers around the world. The characteristics of a typical crime novel is first and foremost that a crime is committed. The crime begins the plot and from this point the investigation starts. Here we meet the investigator that will solve the mystery of the crime that was committed. In the investigation process the reader is introduced to a gallery of characters and during the crime book the crime writer gives the reader some clues to who the offender or murder could be. Another crucial factor here is the motive of the crime. Lastly the crime is solved and all the clues are unravelled in the end of the crime novels. 

The Nordic Crime tradition
In Scandinavia we have a proud tradition of writing crime novels especially in the form of nordic noir. What is special about the nordic noir genre is it’s way of mixing the investigation of a crime or murder with socialrealistic problematics often describes through the main characters. Another special feature found in these crime novels is that the main character is mostly female. The female investigator or journalist comes in the form of an anti-hero that is brilliant at solving a crime mystery, but struggles with problems in her personal life. She is often an outsider and socially changed, but good at her work. She has an assistant or helper, that often is her complete contrast.
Another characteristic of the nordic crime books is the weather. The often cold, harsh, and dark autumn weather in Scandinavia creates a gloomy, melancholic and mysterious backdrop of the story. Some of the crime books best sellers are found in Scandinavia.

Classical mysteries 
The crime genre goes a long way back and is said to have started or had its broad appeal with the stories of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in an english newspaper. The popular stories were later turned into a crime books series, and the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is still some of the most beloved crime stories on the market. The genius main character Sherlock Holmes and his likeable helper Doctor Watson solve some of the most puzzling mysteries in the history of crime novels, and the gallery of characters is really well described. The whole crime book series have been adapted to the screen and the popular crime stories are found in multiple tv-serieses and movies today, but the books are always the best.
You will also find all the classics by the famous and beloved crime writer Agatha Christie in our selection. You can find the whole very popular crime books series with the brilliant Hercule Poirot including the classic The Murder on The Orient Express. You can also find the beloved crime novel character Miss Marple, who is one of the most genius old Ladies in the history of books. You can also find some of Agatha Christies’ plays in our wide selection of crime books.

Thriller
The thriller books are some of the most intense. They are hard to describe, because of their diversity, but they always give you thrill. The plot often deals with a mystery that needs solving, but different from the crime book is the high level of intensity and suspense making it hard for the reader to put the book down again. All the thriller books are page-turners and are highly loved by its readers, because the high level of intensity and excitement makes the reader feel like he is part of the thriller book’s plot. 
In our wide selection of crime and thriller you can find all the thriller books best sellers including the Dan Brown classics The Da Vinci Code and Inferno. If you like a good shiver you should take a look at the nerve wracking thriller books by Stephen King if you dare. 

Join thousands of book lovers

Sign up to our newsletter and receive discounts and inspiration for your next reading experience.