We a good story
Quick delivery in the UK

Books by Noel Streatfeild

Filter
Filter
Sort bySort Popular
  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49

    The author of children's classic 'Ballet Shoes' delights with a best-loved story of ice skating rivalry..."e;If you pass your inter-silver, I'll tell Aunt Claudia that I don't want to work with you any more."e;Harriet is told that she must take up ice-skating in order to improve her health. She isn't much good at it, until she meets Lalla Moore, a young skating star. Now Harriet is getting better and better on the ice, and Lalla doesn't like it. Does Harriet want to save their friendship more than she wants to skate?

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £11.49

    A beautiful hardback gift edition of the beloved children's book BALLET SHOES, featuring the classic illustrations by Ruth Gervis. Elegantly designed with a cloth-bound cover and ribbon embellishment, this is the perfect present for young dancers and readers, or for any lover of classics.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49

    BY THE AUTHOR OF BALLET SHOESwith beautiful illustrations by Edward Ardizzone'A joyous, sunlight book. For me, the best Noel Streatfeild of all' HILARY MCKAY'"e;You have a whole wing of the house to yourselves. The glorious world outside to play in. All that the earth brings forth to feed you, and you stand there asking foolish questions until my head reels. Help yourselves, children, help yourselves."e; Then, flapping her cloak as if to shoo off a clutter of chickens, Great Aunt Dymphna was gone.' Summer will be different for the Gareth children this year. Their father, an epidemiologist, is ill abroad, and their mother must go to help him. So Alex, Penny, Naomi and Robin are sent to Ireland to stay with an eccentric distant relative.Great Aunt Dymphna is like nobody they've ever met. She lives in a ramshackle house, quotes swathes of poetry and flits about like a great bat. And, to the children's consternation, she expects them to fend for themselves. Despite tears and many mishaps, they learn something new every day, and living with Great Aunt Dymphna becomes an adventure.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49

    Brought to you by Puffin.The Heath children have tennis running through their blood - their father and grandfather were top players - and the twins are championship material. However, to everyone's surprise, it is their lazy and rebellious younger sister, Nicky, who has the most natural ability. Nicky begins to practise in secret, but, talented at tennis as she is, she has battles to win with herself - on and off the tennis court. Noel Streatfeild 1937 (P) Penguin Audio 2021

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49

    Brought to you by Puffin.Peter and Santa live a rather dull existence with their Aunt Rebecca, but when she dies they face the awful prospect of life in separate orphanages. In desperation they run away to find their only living relative, Uncle Gus, who works in a circus as a clown. Gus will only let them stay if they promise to work hard, and so the children plunge headlong into the circus world where they soon discover skills they never knew they had. But life is so different - will they ever truly belong? Noel Streatfeild 1938 (P) Penguin Audio 2020

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49

    Brought to you by Puffin.Every family has its secrets, but it was a huge surprise to the three young Forbeses, fresh from a country vicarage, to discover that their grandmother was a famous actress. Sent to live with her in bombed-out, wartime London, they soon discovered that they were expected to follow in the family footsteps - to the footlights -!As an actress herself, Noel Streatfeild was familiar with all the details of the backstage world of the theatre. She has created an authentic, perceptive and vivid picture of theatrical life - from stage school to auditions to performances. Noel Streatfeild 1944 (P) Penguin Audio 2021

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £7.49

    Penguin Readers is an ELT graded reader series for learners of English as a foreign language. With carefully adapted text, new illustrations and language learning exercises, the print edition also includes instructions to access supporting material online.Titles include popular classics, exciting contemporary fiction, and thought-provoking non-fiction, introducing language learners to bestselling authors and compelling content.The eight levels of Penguin Readers follow the Common European Framework of Reference for language learning (CEFR). Exercises at the back of each Reader help language learners to practise grammar, vocabulary, and key exam skills. Before, during and after-reading questions test readers' story comprehension and develop vocabulary.Ballet Shoes, a Level 2 Reader, is A1+ in the CEFR framework. Sentences contain a maximum of two clauses, introducing the future tenses will and going to, present continuous for future meaning, and comparatives and superlatives. It is well supported by illustrations, which appear on most pages.Sisters Pauline, Petrova and Posy Fossil do not have parents, but they have a very kind uncle. The sisters learn to dance, act and sing at a dancing school. But soon they have no money. What will happen to them?Visit the Penguin Readers websiteExclusively with the print edition, readers can unlock online resources including a digital book, audio edition, lesson plans and answer keys.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49 - 9.49

    A thrilling and moving adventure story about evacuees in World War Two, perfect for readers of Goodnight Mister Tom

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £9.49

    Written by the author of BALLET SHOES, this picture book is available once again after nearly 70 years! Aunt Cathy's wedding is tomorrow, but Father insists on keeping Osbert the family dog away from the festivities. Father says he's too unsightly! Can the heartbroken children work a miracle in time? This charming time capsule of a book is sure to delight readers of any age.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £9.49

    A picture book by the author of BALLET SHOES, available again after almost 70 years! Pinkie the cat works at the ballet theatre as a mouser. He loves watching the dancers, but he's scared of the mice he's meant to catch! What's a ballet-loving cat to do? Rarely seen since its first publication in 1951, this charming time capsule of a book is sure to delight readers of any age.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £10.49

    When Sylvia and her old nurse Nana agree to keep house for Gum, they know they will be looking after his fossil collection while his away on his travels. But imagine their surprise when one day he brings them something else - three baby girls whose names all being with 'P'! Pauline, Petrova and Posy Fossil are not really sisters - even their surname is invented. The girls decide to 'put our name in the history books because it's our very own', and enrol at the Children's Academy of Dancing and Stage Training. Each Fossil uses her individual talents to achieve their joint aim in this captivating story, now a modern children's classic.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49

    Margaret Thursday, the unforgettable heroine of Thursday's Child stars in this classic children's adventure from Noel Streatfeild, the beloved author of Ballet Shoes.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £7.49

    Having lost their parents in an earthquake, Anna and her siblings live with their prim uncle and feeble aunt. Anna lives only to dance - but her uncle forbids her to have anything to do with ballet. How will she survive?For Anna, everything takes second place to her burning desire to dance. Even the earthquake that destroyed her Turkish home has not made her think differently, only now she's stuck in a prim suburban household with an uncle who "e;doesn't approve"e; of dancing.What can Anna do? Not only is there no one to give her lessons, but there's no money for them either, and, anyway, dancing's forbidden. Will she ever become the ballerina she longs to be?

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49 - 11.49

    This volume of newly discovered stories will be an exciting discovery for Streatfeild fans of all ages. By the beloved author of Ballet Shoes.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49

    A thrilling, classic children's adventure with a courageous heroine, from the beloved author of Ballet Shoes.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £7.49

    A heart-warming story of music, family and finding a home by Noel Streatfeild, the author of Ballet Shoes,

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49

    From Noel Streatfeild, the author of Ballet Shoes, Caldicott Place is a moving story of unexpected friendships, new beginnings and of the good things that can sometimes come out of disaster.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49 - 11.49

    Pauline, Petrova and Posy Fossil are sisters - with a difference. All three were adopted as babies by Great Uncle Matthew, an eccentric and rich explorer who then disappeared, leaving them in the care of his niece Sylvia. The girls grow up in comfort until their money begins to run out and nobody can find Great Uncle Matthew.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £13.99

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £8.49

    A Vicarage Family is the first part in a fictionalized autobiography in which Noel Streatfeild tells the story of her own childhood, painting a poignant and vivid picture of daily life in an impoverished, genteel family in the years leading up to the First World War.In the story there are three little girls - Isobel, the eldest, is pretty, gentle and artistic; Louise the youngest, is sweet and talented - and then there is Vicky, 'the plain one', the awkward and rebellious child who doesn't fit in at school or at home. Growing up in a big family Vicky feels overlooked but gradually begins to realize that she might not be quite as untalented as she feels.The Vicky of this story is, of course, the much-loved Noel Streatfeild who went on to write so many wonderful family stories, the most famous being Ballet Shoes.

  • by Noel Streatfeild
    £7.49

    If you love Noel Streatfeild's Ballet Shoes,you'll adore The Bell Family. 'Well, little people, what's the news?'Meet the big, happy Bell family who live in the vicarage at St Marks.

Join thousands of book lovers

Sign up to our newsletter and receive discounts and inspiration for your next reading experience.