We a good story
Quick delivery in Europe

Science Fiction & Fantasy

Explore tales.as huge selection of over 10,000 books about science fiction and fantasy. Fantasy contains an adventurous universe of fiction, where you are greeted by magic, fable creatures and other supernatural acquaintances. Therefore we offer good fantasy and science fiction books where the imagination is left to you. Our books naturally cover the needs of you or your children, so you always can find exactly the books that are best for you. Find the great fantasy books here, or get inspired for your next adventurous reading experience with our science fiction books.

Show more
Filter
Filter
Book type
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (4.000+)
Format
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (5.000+)
  • (3.000+)
  • (2.000+)
  • (897)
  • (40)
  • (2)
  • (1)
Language
  • (5.000+)
  • (3.000+)
  • (1.000+)
  • (895)
  • (840)
  • (330)
  • (255)
  • (252)
  • (238)
Show more
Price
Rating
  • (56)
  • (68)
  • (74)
  • (74)
  • (74)
Series
  • (170)
  • (131)
  • (130)
  • (101)
  • (98)
  • (97)
  • (65)
  • (63)
  • (52)
Show more
Sort bySort Popular
  • - LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE 2021
    by Susanna Clarke
    £8.99

  • by Madeline Miller
    £7.99 - 15.99

    WINNER OF THE ORANGE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTIONTHE INTERNATIONAL SENSATIONA SUNDAY TIMES AND NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER'Captivating' DONNA TARTT'I loved it' J K ROWLING'Ravishingly vivid' EMMA DONOGHUEGreece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. Despite their differences, Achilles befriends the shamed prince, and as they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something deeper - despite the displeasure of Achilles's mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess.But when word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, Achilles must go to war in distant Troy and fulfill his destiny. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus goes with him, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they hold dear. 'A book I could not put down' ANN PATCHETT'An exciting, sexy, violent Superman version of The Iliad' GUARDIAN'Sexy, dangerous, mystical' BETTANY HUGHES.

  • - Boxed Set
    by J. R. R. Tolkien
    £12.99 - 44.99

    Continuing the story of The Hobbit, this three-volume boxed set of Tolkien's epic masterpiece, The Lord of the Rings, features striking black covers based on Tolkien's own design, the definitive text, and three maps including a detailed map of Middle-earth.

  • - The dystopian classic reimagined with cover art by Shepard Fairey
    by George Orwell
    £6.49

    Winston Smith works for the Ministry of Truth in London, chief city of Airstrip One. Big Brother stares out from every poster, the Thought Police uncover every act of betrayal. When Winston finds love with Julia, he discovers that life does not have to be dull and deadening, and awakens to new possibilities.

  • by Clive Cussler
    £4.99 - 16.49

  • by Frank Herbert
    £7.99 - 9.49

    Before The Matrix, before Star Wars, before Ender's Game and Neuromancer, there was Dune: winner of the prestigious Hugo and Nebula awards, and widely considered one of the greatest science fiction novels ever written. Melange, or 'spice', is the most valuable - and rarest - element in the universe; a drug that does everything from increasing a person's life-span to making intersteller travel possible. And it can only be found on a single planet: the inhospitable desert world Arrakis.Whoever controls Arrakis controls the spice. And whoever controls the spice controls the universe. When the Emperor transfers stewardship of Arrakis from the noble House Harkonnen to House Atreides, the Harkonnens fight back, murdering Duke Leto Atreides.Paul, his son, and Lady Jessica, his concubine, flee into the desert. On the point of death, they are rescued by a band for Fremen, the native people of Arrakis, who control Arrakis' second great resource: the giant worms that burrow beneath the burning desert sands. In order to avenge his father and retake Arrakis from the Harkonnens, Paul must earn the trust of the Fremen and lead a tiny army against the innumerable forces aligned against them.And his journey will change the universe.

  • by Hajime Isayama
    £9.49

  • - The Riotous Conclusion to The Age of Madness
    by Joe Abercrombie
    £15.99

    Chaos. Fury. Destruction. The Great Change is upon us . . .

  • - The unmissable new fantasy from multi-million and #1 New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas
    by Sarah J. Maas
    £14.49

  • by Isaac Asimov
    £3.99 - 8.99

    WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD FOR BEST ALL-TIME SERIES The Foundation series is Isaac Asimov's iconic masterpiece. Unfolding against the backdrop of a crumbling Galactic Empire, the story of Hari Seldon's two Foundations is a lasting testament to an extraordinary imagination, one whose unprecedented scale shaped science fiction as we know it today.

  • by Sarah J. Maas
    £7.49

  • by Kerri Maniscalco
    £10.99 - 12.99

    The thrilling and devastating sequel to Kingdom of the Wicked, from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Stalking Jack the Ripper.

  • by J. K. Rowling
    £8.49 - 109.49

    The summer holidays are dragging on and Harry Potter can't wait for the start of the school year. There are spells to be learnt, potions to be brewed and Divination lessons (sigh) to be attended. Harry is expecting these: however, other quite unexpected events are already on the march.

  • by Sarah J. Maas
    £6.99

  • - The Third Dune Novel
    by Frank Herbert
    £9.49

    The epic that began with the HUGO and NEBULA Award-winning classic DUNE continues ...

  • by Lana Harper
    £4.99 - 7.99

    PAYBACK'S A WITCH is a fresh, funny, accessible novel for the modern rom-com reader, sparkling with spells and witchcraft

  • by V.E. Schwab
    £15.49

    A Sunday Times-bestselling, award-nominated genre-defying tour-de-force of Faustian bargains, for fans of The Time Traveler's Wife and Life After Life, and The Sudden Appearance of Hope. When Addie La Rue makes a pact with the devil, she trades her soul for immortality. But there's always a price - the devil takes away her place in the world, cursing her to be forgotten by everyone.Addie flees her tiny home town in 18th-Century France, beginning a journey that takes her across the world, learning to live a life where no one remembers her and everything she owns is lost and broken. Existing only as a muse for artists throughout history, she learns to fall in love anew every single day. Her only companion on this journey is her dark devil with hypnotic green eyes, who visits her each year on the anniversary of their deal.Alone in the world, Addie has no choice but to confront him, to understand him, maybe to beat him. Until one day, in a second hand bookshop in Manhattan, Addie meets someone who remembers her. Suddenly thrust back into a real, normal life, Addie realises she can't escape her fate forever.

  • by J. K. Rowling
    £8.99 - 88.99

    This new novel by J. K. Rowling continues the further adventures of boy wizard Harry and his friends. Harry is due to start his fifth year at Hogwarts School, and what he is about to discover will turn his world upside down.

  • by Naomi Novik
    £14.49

  • - The Fourth Dune Novel
    by Frank Herbert
    £9.49

    The epic that began with the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning classic DUNE continues ...

  • - The mesmerising Sunday Times bestseller
    by Stephanie Garber
    £4.99 - 7.99

    Welcome to Caraval, where nothing is quite as it seems. A mesmerising, magical and stunningly imaginative debut novel for anyone who loved The Night Circus and Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

  • by Jay Kristoff
    £7.99 - 12.99

    TWENTY-SEVEN YEARS HAVE PASSED SINCE THE LAST SUNRISE...

  • by Sarah J. Maas
    £6.99

  • by James Patterson
    £8.49

    Only two people know Lamont Cranston's secret identity as the Shadow, a vigilante of justice: his greatest love, Margo Lane, and his fiercest enemy, Shiwan Khan.

  • by Erin Morgenstern
    £8.49

  • by Kerri Maniscalco
    £4.99

    Two sisters. One brutal murder. A quest for vengeance that will unleash Hell itself. A new blockbuster series from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Stalking Jack the Ripper.

  • by TJ Klune
    £8.99

    Linus Baker is sent to assess a magical orphanage, filled with dangerous children. They could bring about the end of everything - or be the family he'd always wanted.

What is science fiction?

The science fiction genre dates back more than 100 years, and is still one of the most read genres by the reader. It’s not accidental the genre is in constant motion in parallel with the development of the world. Our science fiction short stories also help to make science more understandable to the reader, as the books contain much more than just a story. The genre originated in the late 1800s, when the Western world became seriously modern, and the genre has since developed a number of the motifs that have characterized the genre to be the one we see today. So what is Science Fiction then? Science fiction has genre features that are characterized by incorporating fantastic elements where the reader can use the imagination, as they become acquainted with a new perspective on our own world and how it works.



Science fiction books

In our science fiction books, you are greeted by worlds where the reader more easily can identify with the world of history, as this is closer to our real world, and which is consistent with our natural worldview. Science fiction books can be something very special, and below you can find inspiration for your next amazing science fiction book.



Good fantasy books

Fantasy and science fiction are most often linked as one genre, as these cover a number of common genre features, as both genres are in non-real worlds. However, these genres also have some characteristics that are mainly far apart. Our good fantasy books primarily describe worlds that are clearly at odds with the real world and with which we cannot identify. An example of this genre could be the magical stories in the adventurous Harry Potter series, as these stories and its elements quite obviously cannot take place in the real world. Find all the great fantasy books in the selection below.

Join thousands of book lovers

Sign up to our newsletter and receive discounts and inspiration for your next reading experience.