We a good story
Quick delivery in Europe
Red Earth and Pouring Rain by Vikram Chandra

Red Earth and Pouring Rain - Ebook

About Red Earth and Pouring Rain

The gods of poetry and death descend on a house in India to vie for the soul of a wounded monkey. A bargain is struck: the monkey must tell a story, and if he can keep his audience entertained, he shall live. The result is Red Earth and Pouring Rain, Vikram Chandra's astonishing, vibrant novel. Interweaving tales of nineteenth-century India with modern America, it stands in the tradition of The Thousand and One Nights, a work of vivid imagination and a celebration of the power of storytelling itself.'A dazzling first novel written with such originality and intensity as to be not merely drawing on myth but making it.' Sunday Times

Show more
  • Language:
  • English
  • ISBN:
  • 9780571267156
  • Protection:
  • DRM
  • Published:
  • April 7, 2011
  • £6.49
  • Immediately by email
Description of Red Earth and Pouring Rain
The gods of poetry and death descend on a house in India to vie for the soul of a wounded monkey. A bargain is struck: the monkey must tell a story, and if he can keep his audience entertained, he shall live. The result is Red Earth and Pouring Rain, Vikram Chandra's astonishing, vibrant novel. Interweaving tales of nineteenth-century India with modern America, it stands in the tradition of The Thousand and One Nights, a work of vivid imagination and a celebration of the power of storytelling itself.'A dazzling first novel written with such originality and intensity as to be not merely drawing on myth but making it.' Sunday Times
User ratings of Red Earth and Pouring Rain


Find similar books
The book Red Earth and Pouring Rain can be found in the following categories:
Join thousands of book lovers

Sign up to our newsletter and receive discounts and inspiration for your next reading experience.